Top Stories

Pope removes restrictions on Syro-Malabar Church

9:32 PM, October 10, 2017

India(Delhi):The Pope has also extended the boundaries of Ramanathapuram and Thuckalay, both in Tamil Nadu.

Bishop Raphael Thattil (Left) and Fr. Sebastian.

Pope Francis has removed administrative restrictions on Syro-Malabar Church by establishing two new dioceses and extending the eastern Church’s jurisdiction all across India.

Shamshabad in Telengana and Hosur in Tamil Nadu are the new dioceses established for Syro-Malabar Catholics in these areas, said an Oct. 10 announcement.

Pope Francis also extended boundaries of other two Syro-Malabar dioceses in Tamil Nadu—Ramanathapuram and Thakkala—to cover parts of the state that do not come under the new diocese.

The area of Shamshabad covers all parts of India that have not been covered by any other Syro-Malabar diocese so far, said a press release from the Church.

The pope also issued a latter to all the bishops of India along with the announcement of new dioceses. It reminded the bishops that the all India jurisdiction given to Syro-Malabar Church should help all dioceses to work jointly for the Church’s mission.

Bishop Raphael Thattil, who has been serving as apostolic visitator in these areas has been named first Bishops of Shamshabad. Bishop Thattil currently also has been auxiliary bishop of Trichur when the new appointment was announced.

Fr. Sebastian (Jobby) Pozholiparampil of Irinjalakuda has been appointed the bishop of Hosur.

Bishop Raphael Thattil was born on 21st April, 1956, was ordained priest on 21st December, 1980 and consecrated Titular Bishop of Buruni and Auxiliary Bishop of Trichur on 10th April, 2010.

He was appointed Apostolic Visitator of the Syro-Malabar Catholics residing in India outside the territorium proprium on 11th January, 2014.

Bishop-elect Sebastian (Jobby) Pozholiparampil was born on 1st September, 1957, at Pullur in the Diocese of Irinjalakuda. After his school education, he joined the St. Mary’s Minor Seminary, Trichur, and had his philosophical and theological formation at St. Thomas Apostolic Seminary, Vadavathoor.

He was ordained priest on 22nd December, 1982. He holds a Licentiate in Theology from the Angelicum, Rome.

He served the Eparchy as Asst. Parish Priest at Aloor, and Parish Priest at Kaipamangalam, East Chendrappini, Cheelor, Padiyoor, Meladoor, Parappukara Forane, Thottipal and Cathedral Church.

He was Rector of the Spirituality Centre, Eparchial Finance Officer, Vice Rector of the Minor Seminary, Director of Santisadanam, Director of Legion of Mary and Secretary of the Presbyteral Council. He was formerly the Coordinator of Chennai Mission.

He is at present the Syncellus of the Eparchy of Irinjalakuda and Rector of St. Paul’s Minor Seminary and Vocation promoter.


Mobile site | Desktop site
Text size A A

Ucan India 2018. All rights reserved.